2010: Odyssey Two

2010: Odyssey Two by Arthur C. Clarke is a science fiction book and the sequel to 2001: A Space Odyssey. The book was published in 1968 so as it is set in 2010 the author had a different idea about the future.

In the book humanity is rapidly expanding to the stars with several country’s having research outposts on the moon. In the first book (2001: A Space Odyssey) a mysterious black monolith is discovered on the moon. It emits some sort of pulse which is sent to a moon on Jupiter. A research ship floating through the galaxy has the job to investigate. However the onboard computer named HAL 9000 tries to kill the crew as it believes humans have made a mistake. The one surviving astronaut unplugs the computer and goes to the specific moon of Jupiter. He goes down to the surface and examines the second monolith, exactly the same as the first on. The monolith is however an alien “Star Gate” and he is pulled into it. His last transmission back to earth is “My God, Its full of stars.” Nobody has any idea what this meant.

In 2010: Odyssey Two a second ship is launched by a joint project between the Russians and the USA. to find the remains of The Discovery and find out what went wrong, and if possible examine the monolith and find out what the astronauts last transmission was about.

The main character of the book is Heywood Floyd sent along on the Cosmonaut Alexei Leonov along with two other Americans and five Russians. The only reason why the Russians allowed the Americans onboard is because they needed someone to set the discovery on a return course to Earth and the Russians have no idea how American spacecrafts work and vice versa.

( I have not yet finished the book so this is not complete )

Be the first to like.

Leave a Reply

Recent Comments